Advanced card search Random card
Sculpting Steel (Tenth Edition)

Sculpting Steel

Tenth Edition — Rare

Artifact

Sculpting Steel rulings:

12/1/2004 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied artifact will trigger when Sculpting Steel enters the battlefield. Any “as enters the battlefield” or “enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen artifact will also work. For example, if Sculpting Steel copies an artifact creature with sunburst, the copy will get +1/+1 counters based on the number of different colors of mana used to pay Sculpting Steel’s total cost. If Sculpting Steel copies a noncreature artifact with sunburst, the copy will get charge counters based on the number of different colors of mana used to pay Sculpting Steel’s total cost.

7/15/2007 : Sculpting Steel doesn’t copy whether the original artifact is tapped or untapped. It also doesn’t copy any counters on that artifact, any Auras or Equipment attached to that artifact, or any effects that are currently affecting that artifact — you get exactly what’s printed on the chosen card and nothing more. So if you copy an animated Chimeric Staff, for example, you get a normal, nonanimated Chimeric Staff.

7/15/2007 : If the chosen artifact is copying something else (for example, if the chosen artifact is another Sculpting Steel), then your Sculpting Steel enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen artifact copied.

7/15/2007 : If the chosen artifact is a token, your Sculpting Steel copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield. Your Sculpting Steel is not considered to be a token.

7/15/2007 : You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Sculpting Steel stays on the battlefield as an artifact that doesn’t do much of anything.

Sculpting Steel (Tenth Edition)
Price: PaperMTGO

TCGPlayer avg. price:

$7.49

$4.50 $7.49 $11
Low Mid High
Buy now! ▶

Loading price data

Loading

Rating:

9.46/10

Rate This:

Cards with similar text to Sculpting Steel:

Copy Artifact

Copy Artifact

Enchantment

You may have Copy Artifact enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact on the battlefield, except it's an enchantment in addition to its other types.

9.9 /10
~$525
Phyrexian Metamorph

Phyrexian Metamorph

Artifact Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

( can be paid with either or 2 life.)

You may have Phyrexian Metamorph enter the battlefield as a copy of any artifact or creature on the battlefield, except it's an artifact in addition to its other types.

9.5 /10
$7.82
Progenitor Mimic

Progenitor Mimic

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Progenitor Mimic enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, if this creature isn't a token, create a token that's a copy of this creature."

8.7 /10
$2.25
Sakashima s Student

Sakashima's Student

Creature — Human Ninja (0/0)

Ninjutsu (, Return an unblocked attacker you control to hand: Put this card onto the battlefield from your hand tapped and attacking.)

You may have Sakashima's Student enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it's a Ninja in addition to its other creature types.

9.6 /10
--
Vesuvan Doppelganger

Vesuvan Doppelganger

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Vesuvan Doppelganger enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it doesn't copy that creature's color and it gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target creature except it doesn't copy that creature's color. If you do, this creature gains this ability."

9.9 /10
~$433
Evil Twin

Evil Twin

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Evil Twin enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it gains ", : Destroy target creature with the same name as this creature."

7.7 /10
$0.49
Sakashima the Impostor

Sakashima the Impostor

Legendary Creature — Human Rogue (3/1)

You may have Sakashima the Impostor enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except its name is still Sakashima the Impostor, it's legendary in addition to its other types, and it gains ": Return Sakashima the Impostor to its owner's hand at the beginning of the next end step."

9.6 /10
~$15
Vizier of Many Faces

Vizier of Many Faces

Creature — Shapeshifter Cleric (0/0)

You may have Vizier of Many Faces enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except if Vizier of Many Faces was embalmed, the token has no mana cost, it's white, and it's a Zombie in addition to its other types.

Embalm

7.2 /10
$0.54
Masterwork of Ingenuity

Masterwork of Ingenuity

Artifact — Equipment

You may have Masterwork of Ingenuity enter the battlefield as a copy of any Equipment on the battlefield.

8.5 /10
$2.27
Altered Ego

Altered Ego

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

Altered Ego can't be countered.

You may have Altered Ego enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it enters with X additional +1/+1 counters on it.

6.2 /10
$0.35
Clone

Clone

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Clone enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.

7 /10
$0.41
Dack s Duplicate

Dack's Duplicate

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Dack's Duplicate enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it gains haste and dethrone. (Whenever it attacks the player with the most life or tied for most life, put a +1/+1 counter on it.)

8.3 /10
--
Clever Impersonator

Clever Impersonator

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Clever Impersonator enter the battlefield as a copy of any nonland permanent on the battlefield.

9.2 /10
$4.19
Phantasmal Image

Phantasmal Image

Creature — Illusion (0/0)

You may have Phantasmal Image enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it's an Illusion in addition to its other types and it gains "When this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it."

9.4 /10
$2.79
Copy Enchantment

Copy Enchantment

Enchantment

You may have Copy Enchantment enter the battlefield as a copy of any enchantment on the battlefield.

9.4 /10
$7.43
Gigantoplasm

Gigantoplasm

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Gigantoplasm enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it gains ": This creature has base power and toughness X/X."

7.4 /10
$0.49
Quicksilver Gargantuan

Quicksilver Gargantuan

Creature — Shapeshifter (7/7)

You may have Quicksilver Gargantuan enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it's still 7/7.

8.1 /10
$0.94
Jwari Shapeshifter

Jwari Shapeshifter

Creature — Shapeshifter Ally (0/0)

You may have Jwari Shapeshifter enter the battlefield as a copy of any Ally creature on the battlefield.

8.7 /10
$1.74
Stunt Double

Stunt Double

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

Flash

You may have Stunt Double enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield.

8.7 /10
$1.82
Body Double

Body Double

Creature — Shapeshifter (0/0)

You may have Body Double enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature card in a graveyard.

8 /10
$0.94

© 2017 MTG Assist • DisclaimerTerms of Use / Privacy PolicyContact MTG AssistLogin

Magic: the Gathering is trademark and copyright Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All rights reserved. MTGAssist.com is not affiliated with these entities. Articles and comments are user-submitted and do not represent official endorsements of this site.

MTGAssist.com is not affiliated with the mobile app "MTG Assist" or Kiiwi Up.